Core Ideas of the Gospel of Jesus Christ

It Rhymes with Kitchen

SMILE

This year, I’m going to give Jesus Christ a birthday gift I think he’ll really like.  If I can bring this off, it might  be the kind of present he very rarely receives- at least from his family in the USA.  Between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I want to give the Lord 30 days without a single complaint!  I know that will be challenging, so I’m going to spend the next few weeks in training to be sure I can deliver on my promise.

You wanna join me?

We know it is God’s will that his people  repent of the customary way we moan and groan about everything from traffic and weather to sports teams.  We can be sure that Christ does not want to hear us ranting about the attitudes of other people any more than we want to hear other people going off on the attitudes of their friends and co-workers.  It’s not just a buzz kill- it’s a sin.

In Philippians 2:14, we are told to do everything without complaining and arguing. That doesn’t sound like a suggestion to me.  But as a buddy of mine recently pointed out, most of us can’t even make it through an hour without complaining about something, much less a whole day. Sad, isn’t it?  So here’s my plan:

I’m going to start counting on the day before Thanksgiving and stop counting the day after Christmas.  For 30 days I refuse to complain about anything- politicians, celebrity behavior, personal inconveniences, food quality, or even snow!  I hope I can emphasize my conviction that God is always at work behind the scenes advancing good for those who love him and are called according to his purposes.

If this resonates with you, feel free to join in on the fun.  If lots of us take the pledge, we’ll be giving the Lord a present that fits his character, and we’ll make our world a happier place.

Lift up the Cross!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

